Drugstore Makeup Haul & Reviews

IMG_4240

So, I’ve been bad lately, and my wallet hates me for it. I hate me for it a little too if we’re being honest. But in my defense, Ulta was having a 40% discount on Maybelline and Revlon, so I felt just a little more justified in my purchases. And if that wasn’t enough, I decided to also hit up the cosmetics aisle at CVS, and there wasn’t even a sale to justify this kind of spending. Anyway, I will not disclose the amount that I spent, but it was enough, I’ll just put it this way. I will share with you what I got along with some mini reviews on the products I have tried out so far.

IMG_4265

1.) Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser

I think that this was the first thing that I picked up. I had been looking for good drugstore primer, and I noticed that a lot of my favorite beauty YouTubers had been using it a lot. I didn’t really know what to expect, but when I got home and tested it, it was a clear, ointment like texture that almost melts into your skin an ends up having a kind of wet-to-dry effect. I usually do not like clear primers because I usually feel like I am just rubbing globs of grease onto my skin, but this doesn’t feel heavy or greasy and it makes my foundation go on smoother and makes my pores a little less visible, which is a plus!

2.) Maybelline Color Tattoo Eye shadow in Inked in Pink and Barely Branded

IMG_4243 I admit that I have never owned and of the Color Tattoo shadows, but I have heard great things about them. I have also heard that they are a dupe for Mac Paint Pots, and since I definitely don’t own any of those, I decided to pick these up while they were on sale.  I chose Barely Branded because I have heard that it is a great base for priming your lids, as well as an easy all-over lid color. It is a very pretty light gold champagne color. Inked in Pink is a light metallic pink color, that also works well as an all-over lid color. The main reason I chose this color was because I thought that it would be a beautiful color underneath my Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette, as it would enhance the pink colors in the palette. The formula for these are creamy and melt onto your eyelid, where they quickly dry down to a shiny metallic finish They are EXTREMELY long wearing, so much so that I find them slightly difficult to remove, which I consider to be a plus, because they will not fade mid-day like some of my powder shadows tend to.

IMG_4244

Swatched Left to Right: Inked in Pink and Barely Branded

3.) L’Oreal Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer

magic lumi

I tried this once years ago when it first came out, but I forgot what it was like and wanted to give it another go, and I’m happy that I did. This primer is meant to give your skin a bright, dewy effect and I find that it does. I wear this under a light coverage foundation and my skin looks really glowy and pretty. This primer looks like liquid pearl, if that were a thing, and blends on nice and sheer. It gives your skin a fresh dewy look and also primes your skin nicely for foundation application.

IMG_4264

Here is the product swatched before blending. So pretty!

4.) NYC Sun n’ Bronze Bronzing Powder in Hampton’s Radiance

IMG_4259

I heard about this product, guess where…. YouTube! YouTube makes me buy a lot of stuff. This is a bronzer that is perfect for people with lighter complexions who want to have a healthy glow without looking orange. It goes on very light and subtle and blends very well. It would be a great option if you get really pale in the winter like I do, as it gives a very believable tan. This product has a slight shimmer to it, which is actually quite flattering.  Also, it was crazy cheap, maybe only $4 if I remember it correctly, so you should give it a try!

5.) Maybelline The Mega Plush and The Falsies Mascaras

IMG_4260

I am constantly on the hunt for a really great drugstore mascara. I just haven’t found one that I absolutely LOVE yet, and I’m hoping that one of them will be a winner. I chose Mega Plush because I tend to like volumizing mascaras, and the Falsies because I have heard so many people rave about it. I have not opened them yet because I have a few already open that I need to use up.

6.)  Revlon Lip Butter in Peach Parfait

IMG_4245IMG_4247

I absolutely love these lip butters. I already have it in a few shades, but this one is by far my favorite. It is a beautiful peachy pink color, with some brown undertones. This shade would be flattering on all skin tones, and it is now one of the lipsticks I reach for the most, almost every day for the past few weeks. It has a light, moisturizing formula that feels comfortable on the lips. It also has a beautiful shimmer to it. Love this!

IMG_4246

Peach Parfait

7.) Maybelline Lipstick in Lilac Flush

 IMG_4248 IMG_4250

So I’ve decided that Maybelline Lipsticks are definitely my favorite formula after buying this one, and I plan on picking up more. They are so rich and creamy, pigmented, and never feel dry on my lips. This color isn’t like anything that I own. It is a very light purple from their new pastel collection, and I was mainly attracted to it because Jourdan Dunn, one of my favorite models, was wearing this exact shade in the commercial. This is a great spring/summer lip color.

IMG_4251

Lilac Flush

8.) Maybelline Lipstick in Brazen Berry

                                   IMG_4252IMG_4253

This is the same formula as the lipstick that I mentioned above but in a bright, purple color. It is crazy bold but I love it.

IMG_4254

Brazen Berry

9.) Maybelline Master Hi-Light Hi-Lighting Blush in Pink Rose

                               IMG_4241IMG_4242

Fist of all what is up with the name of this blush? Why do they spell highlighting like that? And who designed that ugly Hi-Light Logo? It looks like it would be on some industrial construction paint type of product. Okay weird rant over. This is a new blush from Maybelline, and they have several shades in this line, this one being Pink Rose. I seem to have a million blushes in this shade range, but one more really couldn’t hurt. I will admit that the cool mosaic design is what drew me in, but it’s actually a really nice blush. It is super pigmented, I’m talking crazy. Like you barely have to touch your brush to the product and you have just enough. I don’t know if all of the shades are like that, but if so, that is crazy good considering the price. It is very silky and blend-able, and not at all powdery. As for the highlighting aspect, it actually does give a nice sheen to your face, and you could even skip the actual highlighter if you were going for something more subtle. I wouldn’t mind picking up this blush in another color or two, as it adds a believable flush to  and is high-end quality for a much cheaper price.

10.) Wet N’ Wild Eye shadow Trios in Spoiled Brat, Walking on Egg Shells, and I’m Getting Sunburned

    spoiled bratwalking on eggshellssunburned

Left to right: Spoiled Brat, Walking on Eggshells and I’m Getting Sunburned

I am not going to review these now because I plan on doing a separate review on these trios at a later time. Stay tuned!

I hope you guys enjoyed this crazy-long post. Check back every day for something new!

Becky

4 thoughts on “Drugstore Makeup Haul & Reviews

  1. Hi! I recently had my own makeup haul at Ulta and my wallet was not happy with me either! 😉 I enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for the reviews and pics. Check out my latest haul @ shayfabs.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Comment

