My Trip to New York City

IMG_4585[1]

Hi everyone! So as you may know, I just got back from a four day trip to New York City. I thought it might be fun to share with you some of the things I did and some of the experiences that I had.

I am lucky enough to have met an amazing family while in college in Pennsylvania who I nanny for, and they asked me to come on vacation with them to New York City to help out with their two kids, who are 11 and 13. I am so grateful for this opportunity, because without them I would never have gotten to go on this trip and do so many fun things!

Since I am home in Connecticut for the summer, I hopped a train into the city to meet up with everyone, as they were driving from their home in PA. I take the train a lot when traveling back and forth from PA to CT, so I know pretty well how to navigate the trains and the city. I love the hustle of Grand Central Station, and one of my favorite feelings in the world is when I have a few moments to just walk the city by myself and take it all in. Manhattan is truly one of my favorite places. When I arrived Thursday afternoon, it was blazing hot outside, and I walked to my hotel, enjoying the city while simultaneously dying of heat stroke.  The hotel we were staying at was the Langham Hotel, which I had never heard of. It is located on 5th Avenue, which is a particularly ritzy part of Manhattan. I had no idea how fancy this hotel was going to be. It was completely gorgeous and insane, and I know I probably will never have the pleasure of staying somewhere this amazing again in my life. I truly felt like a queen.  When I met up with the family, we went to our Suite, which was HUGE. It was very modern, and I was most excited about the huge, beautiful rain shower in the bathroom.

IMG_4504[1]

That night, the kids and I stayed in the Hotel and chilled while the parents went to a Broadway show. I was more than happy to stay in because I was exhausted from my trip that day, and I just wanted to relax and enjoy the beautiful hotel. Also, we got to order room service, which is something that I have never done before. It was quite the treat.

IMG_4519[1]

My fancy room service dessert

The next day, we walked around 5th Avenue, which was almost too much for me to handle. Anyone who knows me knows that I am absolutely obsessed with high fashion, and I was able to go into Chanel, Valentino, Dior, and Dolce & Gabbana. I saw so many beautiful things, and it was really fun to look around.

IMG_4539[1]Burberry, Chanel, Miu Miu. The Holy Land

The next thing that happened was my favorite part of the trip. I knew that were going to see the Broadway show Finding Neverland on Saturday, and I had mentioned how much I had wanted to meet one of the stars of the show, Kelsey Grammar. But it was only Friday, so I didn’t really think too much of it. For those of you who don’t know, Kelsey Grammar is a famous actor who was on the show Cheers in the 80s, and on the very successful spin off, Frasier. I know him because he had a two episode arch on my favorite show ever, 30 Rock, where he played himself, and they are my favorite episodes of the show ever. Also, he was a voice actor in my favorite childhood movie, Anastasia and he just seemed like a really cool, funny guy and I really thought it would be cool to meet him. While I was looking around Bergdorf Goodman, which is a high end department store, Judy came up to me and said the Kelsey Grammer was right across the store. I was so excited! It was like meeting Bradley Cooper all over again, and I knew I had to say something. I went up to Kelsey and told him that I just wanted to say that I was a fan of his, and that his episode of 30 Rock was my all time favorite and that I quote it all the time. He was really nice to me, and told me he was so happy that I came to talk to me. He asked me my name and if I wanted a picture. He put his arm around me and we took an epic selfie. He was the nicest guy and meeting him was so much fun. I told him I was coming to see his Broadway show the next day and he was so happy. As he was leaving the store he said “Bye Becky, so you around.” And I was just so happy. Kelsey Grammar is one cool guy.

IMG_4543[1]

The one and only Kelsey Grammar

The next day we went to see Finding Neverland, which is a new Broadway show that is about the man who wrote Peter Pan. The lead actor in the show was Matthew Morrison (Mr. Schue from Glee) and he was so great, and so was my main man Kelsey, who plays Hook. The show was magical, and the kids loved it too.

IMG_4551[1]After the show, we all went to dinner the fanciest restaurant I have ever been too, which was really fun. It was the best food I’ve ever had, and I am not even going to disclose how expensive it was. After dinner, we did some shopping in Times Square.  We went to the Disney Store, which is one of my favorite places because I am absolutely obsessed with Disney. Then I did some makeup shopping at MAC and we called it a night.

The last day, we decided to go to the Statue of Liberty. We took a ferry over to Liberty Island, and there she was. You have to take an elevator up to the pedestal, and then you have the choice of climbing up to her crown, which I would equate to climbing Mount Everest. Like, seriously, there were so many steps and it was this absurdly small, tight, spiral staircase.

IMG_4593[1]

When I finally got to the top, there really wasn’t much to see and I was literally up there for 30 seconds before I went back down. When I got down and went outside and saw the statue, I couldn’t believe I had climbed that high. It wasn’t really worth it, since you couldn’t see much from inside, but I guess it’s cool to say that I did it. It was basically the most American thing I have ever done. My legs are still aching terribly two days later.

IMG_4597[1]

The view from the bottom

Once we got back to Manhattan, I got on a train and got home later that night. I had such a fun, memorable trip, and I hope to go back soon. Until next time!

Becky

Leave a Comment

