Quick Update

IMG_4847[1]

Hi everyone! I hope everyone had a great 4th of July weekend. I just wanted to quickly tell you what I’ve been up to, and why I haven’t posted in the last few days. I normally post three times a week or more, but things have been pretty busy. My dad has been away in Texas, and while he was gone, my dog, Jack, got really sick. We took him to the vet, and he was diagnosed with Addison’s disease, which is a disease that attacks the adrenal gland in the body. To keep things brief, it just means that his body is not producing the hormones that it needs, and it makes him really sick. We were not sure if he was going to live or not, and it was extremely stressful. I checked on him about every five seconds to make sure that he was breathing, but he was barely moving and we were afraid he could die. He finally was able to get treated at the vet the other day, and he jumped back to his old self almost immediately with the medicine they gave him. We know now that he is going to be okay, but it has been extremely stressful having to deal with all of this without my dad here. Jack will have to get a shot every month for the rest of his life, which is a lot, since he is a young job. It will be expensive, but worth it. I am so glad that he is okay, and now that things seem to be back to normal, I will be back with some fun new material on my blog. Thanks for reading!

IMG_4823[1]

2 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Having a sick dog (or cat) is like having a sick child that is either too young to speak or recently adopted from a non-English speaking country. It’s awful and scary. I’m sorry you went through that. Your poor pup! But I’m glad they caught it and that it’s treatable.

    Btw, Addisons, isn’t that what JFK had?

    Like

    • I am so sorry I didn’t get this until now. It’s so true, it’s scary that they cannot communicate to you what they are feeling. It is so sweet of you to say this. He is all better now and has been getting his monthly treatments. And yes, JFK did have Addisons! I think it is very manageable in humans, thank goodness!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

